

## OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF PARLIAMENT PARLIAMENT BUILDING

OAU DRIVE, TOWER HILL FREETOWN



E-mail: sierraleoneparliament@hotmail.com/admin@parliament.gov.sl

20th MARCH, 2022

## **PRESS RELEASE**



SIERRA LEONE DELEGATION TO INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION ARRIVES SAFELY IN NASU DUA, BALI INDONESIA.

The Sierra Leone Parliamentary Delegation to the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) headed by the Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu has on Sunday 20th March 2022 safely landed in Nusa Dua, Bali Indonesia ahead of the 144th Inter-Parliamentary Union Assembly and other related meetings.

The IPU Assembly will provide a unique opportunity for parliamentarians to engage in dialogue and cooperation on issues of common concern on a regular basis. The Nusa Dua Assembly will also provide a unique multilateral forum to enhance peace, prosperity and representative democracy, and promote worldwide parliamentary dialogue.

The debate will focus on the theme "Getting to Zero, mobilizing parliamentarians to act on climate change." The meeting is aimed at addressing one of the most pressing issues in the world today, with a view to strengthening parliamentary dialogue on climate change. The debate will also focus on the role of parliament in contributing to the implementation of national and international climate change policies and agreements.

It is also expected that there will be discussions on parliaments' efforts to reduce emissions, enhance adaptation action and accelerate the green transition, and innovation for greener parliamentary practices and operations.

The IPU Members will be invited in different meetings to share their experiences in tackling the climate crisis in their countries and to discuss how they are supporting their governments in implementing the commitments made at the UN Climate Change Conference (COP26, 2021).

The Head of Sierra Leone Delegation to the IPU is the Speaker of Sierra Leone Parliament, Hon. Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu, and the meetings are to be held in various sessions slated from the 20-24 March 2022.

Members of the Delegation include Hon. Nenneh Lebbie of SLPP, Hon. Musa Fofanah of C4C, Hon. Aziz Ibrahim Bangura of APC, Hon. Edward George of SLPP, Mr. Mohamed Lebbie, Deputy Clerk of Parliament, Miss Hannah Sankoh, Secretary to Delegation and Mohamed Amara Gando, Interim Public Relations Officer of the Sierra Leone Parliamentary Press Gallery.